# Australian Education Union - Victorian Branch ELECTION NOTICE - E2024/140

# **Scheduled Election**

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

Nominations are called for **Delegates to Branch Conference** (number of vacancies) representing the following Region/s:

# Early Childhood Sector

•	South East Region (22)	Greater Waverley, Inner East, Doncaster/Warringal, Outer Eastern, Knox/Dandenong Ranges, Yarra Valley, South Eastern, Berwick/Pakenham, Cranbourne, Longbeach/Moorabbin/Prahran, Frankston, Peninsula
•	North West Region (18)	Inner City, Latrobe/Plenty, Diamond Valley, Werribee, Inner West, Maribyrnong, Broadmeadows, Sunbury, Melton
•	Goulburn Region (2)	Benalla, Seymour, Shepparton, Wodonga, Wangaratta
•	Barwon Region (4)	Geelong, Colac, Hamilton/Portland, Warrnambool
•	Gippsland Region (3)	South Gippsland, West Gippsland, La Trobe Valley, East Gippsland, Sale
•	Loddon Region (3)	Bendigo, Castlemaine/Kyneton, Maryborough, Bendigo/Echuca, Swan Hill, Mildura
•	Central Highlands Wimmera Region (2)	Ballarat, Stawell, Horsham
Primary Allied Staff Sub-Sector		
	Primary Allied Staff Sub-Sector (97)	
• Drim	ary Sector	
•	Geelong (16)	Mildura (5)
•	Colac (2)	<ul> <li>Inner City (13)</li> </ul>
•	Hamilton/Portland (3)	<ul> <li>Latrobe/Plenty (15)</li> </ul>
•	Warrnambool (5)	<ul> <li>Diamond Valley (7)</li> </ul>
•	Ballarat (10)	Werribee (19)
•	Stawell (2)	<ul> <li>Inner West (15)</li> </ul>
•	Horsham (2)	<ul> <li>Maribyrnong (13)</li> </ul>
•	Benalla (2)	<ul> <li>Broadmeadows (15)</li> </ul>
•	Seymour (4)	<ul> <li>Sunbury (4)</li> </ul>
•	Kyabram (1)	<ul> <li>Melton (10)</li> </ul>
•	Shepparton (4)	Greater Waverley (13)
•	Wodonga (3)	<ul> <li>Inner East (7)</li> </ul>
•	Wangaratta (3)	<ul> <li>Doncaster/Warringal (12)</li> </ul>
•	South Gippsland (5)	Outer Eastern (11)
•	West Gippsland (4)	<ul> <li>Knox/Dandenong Ranges (11)</li> </ul>
•	La Trobe Valley (7)	Yarra Valley (2)
•	East Gippsland (3)	• South Eastern (9)
•	Sale (3)	Berwick/Pakenham (14)
•	Bendigo (8)	Cranbourne (12)
•	Castlemaine/Kyneton (4)	<ul> <li>Longbeach/Moorabbin/Prahran (23)</li> </ul>
•	Maryborough (1)	• Frankston (9)
•	Bendigo/Echuca (3)	Peninsula (8)
•	Swan Hill (2)	、 <i>′</i>

# Secondary Allied Staff Sub-Sector

• Secondary Allied Staff Sub-Sector (56)

# **Secondary Sector**

- Geelong (11)
- Colac (1)
- Hamilton/Portland (2)
- Warrnambool (4)
- Ballarat (6)
- Stawell (1)
- Horsham (3)
- Benalla (2)
- Seymour (3)
- Kyabram (1)
- Shepparton (3)
- Wodonga (3)
- Wangaratta (3)
- South Gippsland (4)
- West Gippsland (3)
- La Trobe Valley (3)
- East Gippsland (2)
- Sale (2)
- Bendigo (6)
- Castlemaine/Kyneton (2)
- Maryborough (1)
- Bendigo/Echuca (2)
- Swan Hill (1)

# **TAFE and Adult Provision Sector**

- Federation TAFE Federation University Australia (1)
- Bendigo Kangan Institute (5)
- Box Hill Institute (4)
- Chisholm Institute of TAFE (4)
- TAFE Gippsland (2)
- The Gordon Institute of TAFE (The Gordon) (3)
- Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE (1)
- Holmesglen Institute of TAFE (3)
- Melbourne Polytechnic (5)

- Mildura (4)
- Inner City (18)
- Latrobe/Plenty (12)
- Diamond Valley (5)
- Werribee (12)
- Inner West (12)
- Maribyrnong (12)
- Broadmeadows (9)
- Sunbury (3)
- Melton (7)
- Greater Waverley (11)
- Inner East (6)
- Doncaster/Warringal (10)
- Outer Eastern (7)
- Knox/Dandenong Ranges (7)
- Yarra Valley (1)
- South Eastern (7)
- Berwick/Pakenham (12)
- Cranbourne (5)
- Longbeach/Moorabbin/Prahran (18)
- Frankston (6)
- Peninsula (4)
- RMIT (1)
- South West Institute of TAFE (1)
- Sunraysia Institute of TAFE (1)
- Swinburne University of Technology (TAFE Division) (1)
- Victoria University (TAFE Division) (3)
- William Angliss Institute of TAFE (1)
- Wodonga Institute of TAFE (Wodonga TAFE) (1)
- Disability Services Sub-Sector (9)
- AMES Sub-Sector (1)

#### Election of women to Branch Conference The rules of the branch provide that the minimum nu

The rules of the branch provide that the minimum number of women to be elected shall be 50% of the total number of persons to be elected to the office in question provided that where the total number of persons to be elected is an odd number, the minimum number of women to be elected shall be determined by reducing the total number of persons to be elected by one and taking 50% of that number. If the number of women candidates is less than the minimum number of women determined in accordance with this Rule, the position or positions remaining shall be filled by a male candidate or male candidates as the case may be.

**Nominations**, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the Organisation, may be made at any time from 29/01/2025.

Additional forms are available from the Returning Officer.

Prospective candidates and nominators should verify their financial status and any other qualifications required by the Organisation's rules prior to lodging nominations.

Nominations must reach the Returning Officer via the lodgement method(s) stipulated below **not later than** 12:00 noon Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) **on** 26/02/2025.

How to lodge nominations, nominations must be lodged via the following method(s):

By Portal: Australian Electoral Commission Portal, www.aec.gov.au/ieb/

**By Email:** A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures and attachments may be scanned and submitted as a pdf file to <u>IEBnominations@aec.gov.au</u>

The subject line of your email should include the reference: "AVC7K- E2024/140 AEU VIC - Nomination [Your Name]"

PLEASE NOTE:

- 1. Emails to the AEC inbox that appear to be spam may be blocked. It is the responsibility of senders to ensure that their email reaches the AEC before the deadline for nominations.
- 2. In order to be able to be received by the AEC, emails (including attachments) should be no greater than 6 MB in size.
- 3. You may call 03 9285 7111 to enquire about the status of your nomination.

## **Candidate Statements**

Candidates may submit a statement to be included with ballot material.

- A statement restricted to a maximum of 200 words per candidate
- **may** include a passport size photograph and
- **may** include an indication of preference provided all candidates are shown in the order they appear on the ballot paper and there is a preference allocated to each candidate.

Only statements which comply with the Rules and are received by the Returning Officer by 12:00 noon (Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT)) on 05/03/2025 can be accepted. Statements should be provided in **MS Word format** and may be emailed to IEBnominations@aec.gov.au

## Voting Period

The ballot, if required, will open on 02/04/2025 and close at 10:00am Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on 07/05/2025. A postal vote pack will be mailed to eligible voters on 02/04/2025

## **Replacement Voter Pack**

If the postal vote pack is not received by 14/04/2024 voters may contact the AEC to request a replacement voter pack by calling 02 9375 6366 or 03 9285 7111 or by sending email to <u>IEBevents@aec.gov.au</u>. If you are on the roll of voters, a replacement ballot pack will be sent by regular mail.

## Scrutineers

The appointment of scrutineers closes 10:00am Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on 07/05/2025.

A Scrutineer Appointment form is available on the Australian Electoral Commissions website <u>here</u> or from the Returning Officer. <u>www.aec.gov.au/ieb/files/scrutineer-appointment-form.pdf</u>

### **Other Information**

Changed Address? Advise the Organisation now. The postal vote pack will be sent to your current postal address as provided to the AEC by your Organisation.

Please Note: A copy of the AEC's election report can be obtained from the Organisation or from the Returning Officer after the completion of the election.

Returning Officer Telephone: 03 9285 7111 Email: IEBevents@aec.gov.au 28/01/2025

